Spring 2020 Lookbook

I can’t believe that it’s already March! As much as I love all four seasons, spring is definitely my favourite. It’s pleasantly warm and a myriad of different flowers beautifully adorns the landscape. I look forward to the bright yellow daffodils and vivid crocuses in March, fragrant cherry blossoms and showy magnolia in April and lilac cascades of wisteria in May. This season requires lighter clothes that must also protect from the lingering chill of winter. I have put together three outfits that reflect the gentle spirit of this season. Hopefully they will inspire you.

Outfit 1: Blossoming Trees

This outfit was inspired by the pale pink and pure white clouds created by fruit blossoms abundantly adorning recently bare branches. The sight of those blooming flowers always warms my heart, even on the gloomiest spring days (they happen). The simple white sweater is quite light and thin, so it’s perfect for mild spring weather. I combined it with beautiful pink trousers adorned with a lovely ribbon at the waist. It adds femininity and elegance to the outfit. I left out the shoes in the flatlay, because I think that many pairs would go perfectly with it, without changing the look of the outfit too much, so I simply couldn’t decide. As long as the colour is harmonious, anything goes really.

Accessories give this outfit a particular charm. Gold looks beautiful with both pink and white, it’s also an interesting accent. The cut of the sweater leaves plenty of room to expose the necklace, so I chose a more showy layered one. For the hair, I chose a subtle and elegant ribbon clip to match the one on the trousers. I added a dainty gold watch, which is both practical and pretty, as well as two gold bracelets with delicate star themes to adorn the other wrist.

A better look at how the necklace appears on the neck. I also showcased my earrings here, elegant golden hearts, as I somehow forgot to include them in the flatlay.

Outfit 2: Fragrant Florals

I have a weakness for florals, and there’s no better time to wear them than spring, when so many gorgeous flowers bloom in different colours, their sweet scents combining into the nostalgic fragrance of spring. In this outfit I used a loose light pink top with 1/2 sleeves, perfect for spring weather, and a feminine white skirt with a lovely floral pattern. Spring days can still be rather chilly, so the fluffy cardigan adds warmth and brings to mind young lambs and soft bunnies, so commonly associated with spring.

As for accessories, I used an elegant pearl bracelet, necklace and hair clip. The earrings are gorgeous, rather showy flowers, matching the theme of the skirt.

The shoes I used are classic, beige-pink moccasins. As a bonus- gorgeous vibrant crocuses announcing the arrival of spring.

Outfit 3: Birdsongs

This outfit was inspired by a clear, bright blue sky interrupted only by several small, fluffy pure white clouds, leisurely floating along. Throughout the air flow cheerful birdsongs, urged on by the gentle breeze that also carries the mild scent of spring blooms. The focal point is the gorgeous dress, with a lovely and elegant cut perfect for this season, stunning ruffles and a poetic print with flowers and majestic birds. Although the long sleeves should be sufficient for average spring temperatures, I also added a lovely soft bolero as an elegant touch, just in case. For additional protection from lingering winter chills, I added a thin pink scarf and matching beret, both easily removable on warmer days. I decided to forgo the necklace to accentuate the pretty neckline, similarly I skipped the bracelet. For earrings I chose gorgeous hearts with pearl beads, and for the hair- an elegant light pink bow. As for shoes- it was a tough choice, but I went for elegant beige Oxford shoes. I think they match the classic vibe of this outfit very well. However, as with all other outfits, anything goes as well as it matches ^^

As always, I hope that you found this lookbook inspiring. Have a lovely day and please stay safe during those strange times. ~

Leave a comment